Uma

Uma

Name: Uma
Age: 1 1/2 years old
Breed: Australian Shepherd
Gender: Female
Weight: 45 lbs

Meet Uma, professional cuddler and tennis ball chaser! Uma is a sweet year and a half old Aussie girl coming in at 45 pounds with a gorgeous red and white coat and sparkling golden eyes. She’s your typical high energy Aussie that will velcro glue herself to you and be your best friend and companion. She settles in very nicely and is happy to curl up next to you and provide the best cuddles (her foster parents cannot say this enough, they are A++ cuddles). Uma adores belly rubs and ear scratches. Chasing tennis balls in the backyard is her absolute favorite thing to do, and she would keep bringing them back from dawn to dusk if you let her. She will never admit to you that she’s tired! She knows several commands such as sit, down and come as well as being house and crate trained. Her foster parents think that she’s just now learning about walks and leashes, but she does pretty well on leash and is a quick study.

Uma will need a home with patient and knowledgeable adopters that keep her exercised and are willing to work with her long term on some anxiety issues. She gets nervous meeting/being approached by strangers either on walks or at home and will cower and bark but has not shown any signs of aggression. That said, she will warm up extremely quickly and demand to be petted. Uma has shown some resource guarding towards her canine foster brother and is a little too interested in the foster’s home resident cat. So she would do best as single dog or with an extremely laid back doggie sibling/dog savvy cat. Her foster parents are working hard at socializing this wonderful girl and her confidence grows a little more every day! Uma will be the perfect addition to a loving, active household.

Uma is UTD on vaccines and is microchipped. She will be available for adoption once she has been spayed in a few weeks. Her adoption fee is $300 and she is fostered in Silver Spring, MD.

http://carolinaheartsrescue.org/adoption-information/

Rudy

Rudy

Name: Rudy
Age: 13 years
Breed: Australian Shepherd
Gender: Male

Hi! My name is Rudy and life has not been easy. For 13 years, I was chained up outside 24/7 which wasn’t fun, but I can say that it has made me a survivor. When I first got to hang out inside, I was a bit confused by the wood floors and paced around a lot, but now I am really learning to love curling up on soft things like dog beds and couches. I love my crate at night and am super thankful for a warm, soft place to spend my nights.
I ignore cats and really just crave “me-time” with my foster parents, so would prefer a household with siblings who are ok with that and don’t pester me too much.  There’s a little human here who is just the best, I love curling up on the couch and watching movies with her.
I am definitely looking for a family who will give me lots of love and attention since I have lacked that most of my life. I will stick right by your side wherever you go and will hope that we end up snuggling on the couch. My favorite place will probably be in your lap, and, yes, I am small enough to be a lap dog! I won’t bark or jump all over you like some of these young chumps. Lots of pets and cuddling will keep me completely satisfied and I will curl up in my crate like a champ when I’m sleepy. Meeting the right family to call mine will make all of those years on the chain worthwhile.
Rudy is a 13yo Border Collie boy looking for a home to retire in. He has had some medical issues cleared up while in foster and does take daily medications. He is neutered, UTD on vaccines, and microchipped. He is currently fostered in Pittsboro, NC and his adoption fee is $150.

Gia

Gia

Name: Gia
Age: 5-6 years
Breed: Australian Cattle Dog
Gender: Female

Hi everyone! My name is Gia. I’m an Australian Cattle Dog mix, I’m about 5-6 years old and I’m the sweetest cuddle bug my foster mom has ever met.

I fit in well with my pack here and I’ve liked every dog I’ve met so far. I’m slow to trust cats but there’s four in my foster home and I do well with each one. I play well with my foster siblings both furry and human. The kids are a bit older, quiet, and respectful so that helps me to trust them.

I need people who want a best friend and a family member, someone who doesn’t mind giving me occasional reassurances when we are out in public with strangers around. I am all love and affection and even though I’ve been through a lot in a short time my foster mom says it hasn’t dampened my spirit.

My slow kill heartworm treatment is just an antibiotic pill twice a day and my thyroid med is just as easy. The slow kill treatment is half done already and I promise you if you keep me on my preventatives I won’t let those pesky buggers come back!

Please please don’t let my medical history scare you. That silly old tumor on my neck area was removed with good margins awhile ago and I’m pretty sure I’ve got some very good years ahead of me yet.

I’m fixed, I’m all up to date on vaccines, preventatives, and I’m ready to find a family to call my own. I want a furry canine sibling to play with and help show me the ropes (a fenced in backyard would be a bonus)! I have a great love of the outdoors and wouldn’t mind a few nature hikes now and again. Put an application in for me if I sound like your kind of dog. You won’t be sorry you did! I am currently fostered in Jacksonville, NC.

http://carolinaheartsrescue. org/dog/gia-available-soon/

Roxy

Roxy

Name:  Roxy
Age: senior
Breed: Australian Shepherd
Gender:  Female

Roxy is a senior gal who came in to rescue by way of a local shelter as an owner surrender. She’s a bit shy and confused right now, but is settling in well with her foster mom (aside from Monday’s little adventure). She is heartworm positive and will need to be treated prior to adoption. She will be available in a couple months once we’ve fixed her up!

To donate to Roxy’s treatment please click the link below!

http://carolinaheartsrescue.org/give/donate/

Pippen

Pippen

Name: Pippen
Age: 4-5 years old
Breed: Australian Shepherd/Border mix
Gender: Female
Weight: 50 lbs

Pippen, “Pip” is a 4-5 year old, red tricolor, Aussie/border collie girl who weighs around 50 pounds (she’s a bit chunky, though).

From day one, Pip has been a happy go lucky, sweet dog, who welcomes you with her happy smile and tail wagging every time you walk through the door. She is full of smiles, and listens well when asked to do something.

Pip has been exercise restricted, due to undergoing HW treatment, however she will likely be a medium-to-high energy level dog when given the opportunity. Pip has been living with two doggy siblings (one small, one big) and gets great with both. Pippen can be picky about her canine companions, so she would likely do best with a male sibling who has a comparable energy level. She has also done well with cats and small children. The one thing Pip loves more than anything is human contact – she is happiest when cuddling with you, getting pets, or just being near you.

Pip rides well in the car, and is crate trained if needed. However, she currently has free reign of the house and has no issues. She walks well on leash, and needs a little work on her recall and some basic manners. Pip’s sweet excitement is one of her greatest qualities, but will also need ongoing training to contain that excitement and from jumping on new guests.

An ideal home for Pip would be an active family, with the willingness and availability to continue with her training and ensure she gets enough daily exercise. She would be great with any siblings (dog or human) to help teach her how to play, and a backyard to play in.

Pippen is up-to-date on all vaccines, has been spayed and microchipped. She is currently fostered in Columbia, SC, and her adoption fee is $300.

http://carolinaheartsrescue.org/adoption-information/