Brody

Name: Brody
Age: 3 years
Breed: Australian Shepherd
Gender: Male
Weight: 55 pounds

Hi there! My name is Brody and I am a 3 ½ year old male Australian Shepherd. I am a conformation dog with a great personality – some might call me a clown, and I love teasing my roommates. I may not have a high school diploma, but I am as smart as they come, and I pride myself on being quite the biddable boy. I know quite a few tricks, and could learn more with an interested owner. My owners are my favorite, but I can be a bit shy around strangers. Unfortunately, that made me a bit of a show-ring dropout, but I don’t mind. Once I get to know new people, though, I am their best buddy, and I can wiggle-butt like a champ. I love toys, and I can catch the Frisbee pretty well. Water is pretty much the best thing ever, in my opinion, and I could swim for hours and hours. If I get a chance I will snuggle with my owners on the bed or in the easy chair.

My people had my hips x-rayed for breeding, but the results indicated that I have moderate hip dysplasia. Right now I am asymptomatic and pain-free, however as I get older I may slow down a bit. I’m a little embarrassed to say, but I do have an intermittent leg-lifting habit when I am around other dogs. They make me a little anxious, so I feel the need to mark my territory. When I am alone, I am perfect. I recently gave up my manhood, so I suspect in a few weeks my marking problem will go away.

What am I looking for in my perfect forever family? I would love a home with a nice yard, and an adopter who has time to gives me lots of attention and play time. I probably should be a solo-dog, or with a dog that is about my size or a little bit smaller. I’ve been told that I can be a little over-enthusiastic at times, and some dogs don’t like that – but I love my doggy friends! I do have a feline sister who I get along with – we play chase sometimes (she chases me back!). I don’t know how I would feel about living with a kitty that doesn’t like dogs, but I’m totally game for an open-minded feline who appreciates what a good dog like me has to offer.

Right now, I live with my foster family in Apex, NC. Like I said, I’ve been neutered (bleh!), and I’ve had all my vaccinations. I’ve been very well cared for, so I am also heartworm negative, and microchipped, too! My adoption fee is $300, and I am ready to go home as soon as my perfect family comes along.