Gia

Name: Gia
Age: 5-6 years
Breed: Australian Cattle Dog
Gender: Female

Hi everyone! My name is Gia. I’m an Australian Cattle Dog mix, I’m about 5-6 years old and I’m the sweetest cuddle bug my foster mom has ever met.

I fit in well with my pack here and I’ve liked every dog I’ve met so far. I’m slow to trust cats but there’s four in my foster home and I do well with each one. I play well with my foster siblings both furry and human. The kids are a bit older, quiet, and respectful so that helps me to trust them.

I need people who want a best friend and a family member, someone who doesn’t mind giving me occasional reassurances when we are out in public with strangers around. I am all love and affection and even though I’ve been through a lot in a short time my foster mom says it hasn’t dampened my spirit.

My slow kill heartworm treatment is just an antibiotic pill twice a day and my thyroid med is just as easy. The slow kill treatment is half done already and I promise you if you keep me on my preventatives I won’t let those pesky buggers come back!

Please please don’t let my medical history scare you. That silly old tumor on my neck area was removed with good margins awhile ago and I’m pretty sure I’ve got some very good years ahead of me yet.

I’m fixed, I’m all up to date on vaccines, preventatives, and I’m ready to find a family to call my own. I want a furry canine sibling to play with and help show me the ropes (a fenced in backyard would be a bonus)! I have a great love of the outdoors and wouldn’t mind a few nature hikes now and again. Put an application in for me if I sound like your kind of dog. You won’t be sorry you did! I am currently fostered in Jacksonville, NC.

http://carolinaheartsrescue. org/dog/gia-available-soon/