Jake

Name: Jake
Age: 7 years
Breed: Australian Shepherd
Gender: Male

Hi, I’m Jake! I’m a 7 year old black-tri, male Australian shepherd. I’ve been through a lot in the last few months when my owner passed away and I moved around quite a bit. I was so happy to find a place to land with CHAR and am now looking for my forever home! I was very well cared for and loved prior to coming into rescue. I have been working on losing some weight with low calorie food, leash walks and playing in foster mom’s neighborhood dog park!

I love when my foster mom sings my name and talks to me! She says I’m the most handsome guy she’s seen and has a big crush on me (look out human males). Once I’ve warmed up, I LOVE to be around people of all sizes – I am quite the cuddle bug! I don’t jump on people but will spin/wag my nub uncontrollably when I am happy. I am very gentle when taking treats – I just love treats. Going out and about is new to me so I get very excited but a little nervous in the car – it’s best if I’m tethered while riding as I tend to hop right out once we arrive at our destination. I walk well on a leash but sometimes everything is so interesting I get distracted and can be a little stubborn when it is time to go in – it’s a great big world out there and I want to see it all. I love to make new dog friends (big and small) and sometimes like to follow them around and get vocal when they leave me because I like them so much! Foster mom doesn’t have cats but when I came to her they told her I was cat friendly. I am lower energy for an Aussie, but given a new friend or enough pestering from my young energetic Aussie foster sister I’ll engage in a little wrestling or chase. My favorite thing to do is cuddle on the couch – if I’m invited up – or lay by your feet with a bone. If you invite me to sleep with you I’ll make myself a spot but you may also wake up to a little spooning, I like to be big spoon.

I would love a home of my own with people to give me lots of love and attention, a dog brother/sister would be nice too so when I am left alone I will have some company. I would do best in a home where my new family will give me stability and help me shed a few more pounds with diet and exervise. If you are looking for a sweet, friendly, low key guy then look no further.

I am neutered, fully vetted and on monthly preventatives. This boy has been well loved and will be available for adoption once he’s been vetted and evaluated.